Alternative to Gumroad: Selling digital products with Kit Commerce

Inside Kit
Updated: March 24, 2025
Alternative to Gumroad: Selling digital products with Kit Commerce
4 min read

If you’re currently selling digital products on Gumroad, it might be time to look for a new home for your products, because the rent has just increased.

While Kit is mostly known as an email marketing platform, Kit Commerce has robust features you can use to sell digital products with low transaction fees that come with any of our plans. By combining the power of email marketing and commerce, you can supercharge your product promotions and keep more earnings to yourself.

7 reasons why selling digital products on Kit might be a better fit for you than Gumroad

1. Low transaction fees

You can sell digital products with low transaction and credit card processing fees of just 3.5% + $0.30 on any of our Kit plans. No additional hidden fees you need to account for.

If you’re just getting started, you can sell your digital products without having to pay any monthly subscription. You only pay when you get paid.

Have an email list and want to take advantage of it? Let’s say you’re promoting a $100 product and you have a 2% conversion rate with your list of 5,000 subscribers. With Gumroad’s 10% transaction fee and the additional credit card processing fee, you’ll incur $1,290 in costs. When you sell and market with Kit, you’ll only pay out $429 in fees out of your $10,000 in earnings.

Even with a monthly subscription, you still save 2.5x of the costs on average compared to if you were selling on Gumroad—and you get much more powerful email marketing features to help you promote your business.

2. Sell any type of digital product

We don’t limit how you monetize as a creator. You can sell ebooks, coaching, paid newsletters, email courses, sponsorships, and so much more. You can even create a digital tip jar to include in your newsletter or link-in-bio to get organic support from your followers.

3. Full suite of pricing methods and discounts

Sell any way you want. You can create products with a one-time offer, different frequency subscriptions, payment plan, or pay what you want. Each gives you the opportunity to promote your products differently. Plus, if you want to run promotions, you can easily do so with promo codes.

4. Embed on any website and any email

No need to create an additional page. With our checkout modal you can embed your product in any website, or link to it directly. Better yet, embed the product in your email so you don’t have to do extra work to stylize how it appears.

5. All your purchases in one place

Our dashboards pull in data from Gumroad, Shopify, Teachable, Thinkific, and many more. This means not only do you have all data from customers in one place, but it’s also visible in one seamless graph. You don’t have to log into 3-4 accounts just to find out how much you earned this month.

6. Drive more sales with automations

Kit’s automation tool gives you an edge to sell your products in an evergreen funnel. Set up a sales funnel a month after a subscriber joins you. Build automated cross-promotional products to increase subscriber lifetime value. Put your most effective sales launches on autopilot.

7. Use Upsells to increase average order value

The best time to upsell someone is when they are already eager to pay for your product. On Commerce, you can add in up to two additional standard products on the checkout page. On top of that, you can even add in discounts, exclusive to upsells, to incentivize customers and drive up your average order value.

Switch from Gumroad to Kit

Ready to make the switch, but feel stuck? Our migration team can help import your subscribers and products at no charge. Let us get you ready to tap into all the features you need to grow your revenue. Request your migration.

Start selling within minutes

As a creator, you deserve to get paid for your work. Kit Commerce is ready-made to help you sell digital products.

Get paid with Kit Commerce
Frances Wong
Frances Wong

Frances Wong is the product marketing manager at Kit. She is customer-obsessed, which helps her build, launch, and grow innovative and impactful tools for creators. Outside of Kit, you’ll find her in Brooklyn with Daikon, her adorable Jindo mix. (Read more by Frances)